SALINAS, CA— In a stunning blow to his chief rival, today State Assemblyman and California Latino Legislative Caucus Chair Luis Alejo received two pivotal endorsements in his campaign for Monterey County Board of Supervisors District 1: Monterey County Central Labor Council and the Salinas Valley Democratic Club.

Today’s endorsements follow Assemblyman Alejo’s endorsement yesterday from the United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 5 and add further momentum to his campaign against the incumbent Fernando Armenta.

Responding to news of the endorsement, Assemblyman Alejo remarked:

“It’s really gratifying to have this support from the Monterey County Central Labor Council and the Salinas Valley Democratic Club. Their backing truly underscores the fact that they believe it’s time for a change in the 1st district and that I embody the change our community needs. After years of failure from the incumbent, it’s time to take the district into a new direction. I’m excited to work closely with the Monterey County Central Labor Council and the Salinas Valley Democratic Club to accomplish this.”

Today’s news follows several other key endorsements Assemblyman Alejo received, including:  United Food and Commerical Workers (UFCW) Local 5, Salinas Valley agricultural leaders David Gill and John D’Arrigocaps, SEIU Local 521, Laborers (LiUNA) Local 270 and the Monterey County Democratic Party.

Below is Luis Alejo’s full list of endorsements:

·Monterey County Democratic Party
·Progressive Democrats of Monterey County
·  Monterey Bay Central Labor Council
·  Salinas Valley Federation of Teachers AFT Local 1020
·  Former California Supreme Court Justice Cruz Reynoso
·  Former Assemblymember and environmentalist Fred Keeley
·  Former Salinas City Councilmember Sergio Sanchez
·  Former Salinas City Councilmember Maria Giuriato
·  Former Salinas City Councilmember Ernesto Gonzalez
·  Marina Police Chief Eddie Rodriguez
·  Hartnell College Trustee Ray Montemayor
·  Salinas Valley Memorial Hospital District Trustee Victor Rey
·  Salinas Valley Memorial Hospital District Trustee Rafael Garcia
·  Monterey County Board of Education Trustee Sergio Alejo
·  Former Alisal School Board Member Francisca Salinas Gonzalez
·  Monterey County Business Leaders George & Debra Couch
·  Monterey County Business Leader Manny Delgadillo
·  Salinas Business Leader Mike Hackett
·  Salinas Business Leader Sal Jimenez
·  Salinas Agricultural Business & Community Leader Ricky Cabrera
·  Salinas Businesswoman Elvia Salgado
·  Salinas Businessman Juan Navarro
·  Salinas Businessman Jesus Rocha
·  Salinas Businessman Jesus “Chuy” Leon
·  Democratic National Committee (DNC) Member & Former Salinas State Senate Candidate Shawn Bagley
·  Democratic Party Leader Les Gardner
·  Salinas Democratic Party Leader Teri Short
·  Salinas Valley Democratic Club Vice-President Patricia Rubio Coyt
·  Eduardo Montesino, President of SMART Transportation Union, Local 0023*
·  Steve McDougall, Past President of the Salinas Valley Federation of Teachers*
·  Salinas Community & Labor Leader Frank Cabrera
·  District 1 Community Leader Lupe Sanchez
·  District 1 Community & Farmworker Leader Silvia Huerta
·  District 1 Community & Farmworker Leader Agapito Huerta
·  District 1 Community Leader Francisco Cerritos
·  District 1 Community Leader Armando Lopez
·  District 1 Community Leader Sandra Olvera
·  District 1 Community Leader Elizabeth Reyes
·  District 1 Community Leader Sandra Ocampo
·  Salinas Teacher Albert Murillo
·  Former Salinas Education Leader Ignacio Ornelas
·  Salinas Farmworker Leader Desiderio Barroso
·  Salinas Community Leader Tony Acosta
·  Salinas Community Leader Ali Chavez
·  Salinas Resident Juan Chavez
·  Salinas Resident Dulce Gonzalez
·  Salinas Resident Jose Covarrubias
·  Salinas Valley Memorial Hospital Board Trustee Margaret D’Arrigo
·  Salinas City Elementary School Board Member & Salinas Attorney Stephen Kim
·  Monterey County Fair Board Member Paul Tran
·  Alisal High School Teacher Ruben Pizarro
·  Salinas Education Leader Lorena Silva
·  State Migrant Parent Advisory Council President Maria Perea (Ret.)
·  Salinas Teacher Ana Covarrubias
·  Hartnell College Administrator & Educator Manuel Bersamin
·  SMART Transportation Union Local 23 President Eduardo Montesino
·  Monterey Democratic Party Central Committee Member & Salinas Resident James Thomas Green
·  Salinas Filipino-American community leader Manny Quebec
·  Salinas Filipino-American community leader Orly Jimenez
·  Salinas Filipino-American community leader Mars Rocamora jr.

Assemblymember Alejo serves as the Chair of the Assembly Environmental Safety & Toxic Materials Committee as well as Chair of the powerful California Latino Legislative Caucus. He had a record 18 of 20 bills signed by Governor Brown just this year. Assemblymember Alejo also previously served as the the Vice-Chair of the Assembly Local Government Committee and was awarded the 2015 Legislator of the Year by the California League of Cities for authoring Assembly Bill 2, which creates a new form of redevelopment for economic development and affordable housing in disadvantaged communities.

In 2013, Assemblymember Alejo was ranked as, “Most Effective Democratic Assemblymember” by the Capitol Nooner after Governor Jerry Brown signed his landmark legislation AB10 to raise California’s minimum wage to $10.00 per hour starting this January 1, 2016 and AB60 to provide an opportunity for undocumented immigrants to legally obtain valid California drivers licenses.

As the representative of California’s 30th Assembly District, Alejo has served as the voice of Monterey County’s 1st Supervisorial District in Salinas and has been voted in six times by its residents in the last five years receiving overwhelming support.

Assemblymember Alejo released a video on Twitter and Facebook announcing his decision for 2016.

The English version of that video can be found here:

The Spanish version of that video can be found here:

Paid for by Alejo for Supervisor 2016